5 times the realisation that I’m an adult… 

-hit me like a ton of bricks.

1. When I started paying for my own medical needs. Or rather when I stopped paying for medical needs coz I am broke af. Also; get all the dental work you need before you turn 16 kids.

2. When I recieved my 1st bill. It was exciting. Finally, I was an adult with their shit together. Negative. The novelty soon wore off.

3. When I applied for a higher position at work, didn’t get it but was then asked to rate the other candidate who applied for the same post so that they still had a chance of getting it.

4. When I started to loathe owning a bank card and MISS the £5 pockey money I used to get from the folks. Being responsible blows.

5. When I realised that kissing ass is unfortunately sometimes the only way to get a little bit further in life. I swear a small part of me died inside. 

When do you get reminded / realise that you are an adult?

6 comments

  1. Lol my 12 year old always asks me what’s it like to be an adult (not having to go to school and stuff) but all I can say is enjoy being a kid while you can.

    But seriously, the time I knew I was an adult was late one Saturday afternoon when I was sitting watching “The Brady Bunch” with the kids, transported to my own carefree childhood, and they’re like ‘Mum, what’s for dinner’ and then I’m like “Um, I don’t know”. It quickly dawns on me that that’s my job….

    1. 😂 Aw! See I always wanted to be a grown up too when I was a kid. My problem was I was a very mature kid but no one took me seriously I felt. On some level, I still wouldn’t want to be a kid. But being an adult is no walk in the park either.

      1. It seems most kids are keen to be grown up, I recall my own mum telling me to ‘stop wishing my life away’ when I wish life would hurry up!

Leave a Reply

