Even more Arabic sayings that will blow your mind

-or you know, Arabic sayings part 2, whatever.

Hello lovely people who have probably ceased to remember who I am. I didn’t have a massive following before but I am betting I have none now. Correct me if I am wrong for yes, this is me fishing for compliments dear reader of mine.

I have been really stuck for things to write about lately and I didn’t want to write just for the sake of making my presence felt hence the long ass absence. But, given that today is apparently my 3rd Blogaversary, I decided to make an effort! As for what to write about, then I remembered a recent post of mine that seemed to do well (5 Arabic sayings that will blow your mind) in terms of amusing the masses. Ergo; here comes some more of that good stuff, you’re welcome.

The monkey, in it’s mother’s eyes, is a deer;

القرد في عين أمه غزال

I guess this is a not so poetic way of saying; beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Basically, even if you are the best looking creature to your mother, the mandem still think you butters as hell…

One hand doesn’t clap;

يد وحدة ما تصفق

This is not a challenge guys, don’t be trying it as soon as you read this! One hand wont clap is basically saying there are somethings you cannot do alone, hence it is time to brush up on your team building skills. So, all hands on deck.

Time is a sword, if you don’t cut it, it will cut you;

الوقت كالسيف إن لم تقطعه قطعك

Because making you aware of the value of time is no fun unless there is a threat for potential violence involved. Let’s be real, you are more likely to use your time wisely this way.

Stay away from evil and sing to it;

ابعد عن الشر وغنيله

I get the great advice of avoiding confrontation and going about your business but surely spiting evil by singing to it is just flirting with disaster?

The onions of the market are sweeter;

بصل السوق حالي

…than the onions at home presumably, which are perfectly fine so stop eyeing up other people’s stuff, you greedy git. Translation; the grass is always greener on the other side.

Well, I hope you enjoyed those as much as the last ones! Do let me know which ones you liked in the comments section below and share some of your own if you know some funny ones!

Follow me on social media, because my standard of comedy is just hard to find these days, guys. Links below.

***

Twitter | Instagram

11 comments

    1. Oh yeh actually think I heard it in Urdu! Aww glad you like it. I am sure there will be part 3. Arabs are always coming up with some bakwaas or the other 😂

      1. There should be! 😉
        Hey this is no baqwas! It is fun to read these Arabic saying.They sound so weird when you read like the English part.But you explain them and your comments are always fun to read. 😀 Even in Urdu there are dozens of proverbs which are so weird that you won’t get what they mean at all,like code language sort of. XD

    1. Is it sad that I do too? 😂 oh it gets worse. I sit there going ooh this story is really enjoyable. And I am the one that wrote it! 😂😂😂 I am thinking of writing another one though you know.

Leave a Reply

