Ramadan Vibes | Day … 7!

Ok, so, blogging daily for Ramadan turned out to be an epic fail didn’t it. Maybe a weekly task would have been more realistic. I haven’t blogged since writing about Day One. Honestly, I do not seem to have the time. My sleeping is all over the place. I literally aim to stay up until Fajr, which then leaves me only a few hours to sleep before waking up for work- which I perform in just fine, thank you very much for your concern, Katie Hopkins.

Anyway, not much interesting has happened to me in the previous few days per se, I am honestly just trying to treat this Ramadan like it will be my last, in case it actually is. Last year, I feel I wasted a lot of time on YouTube videos of a non-Islamic nature…

…wait, that makes me sound like I am up to no good on YouTube, let’s rephrase that.

I basically would follow all these vlogs of YouTubers, envying their lives, because that is what social media leads you to do. This year, I am using YouTube for Islamic lectures that I listen to whilst waiting for Fajr and Maghrib. I have found a few non patronising speakers that I can relate to- whose words and lessons I feel comforted by. So that’s good!

To stop this post being as non-eventful as it is turning out to be, I thought I would examine some of the things I was writing around this time last year to see if I am in the same frame of mind today.

“Anyway, given the emotional wreck that is my mind lately, I just felt like binging last night, being healthy be damned so I did just that. I had like an Iftar party.”

Wow, I wrote that on the 7th of Ramadan last year, I am happy to report that my mind does not feel like an emotional wreck for now, a thousand times Alhamdulilah and may Allah keep it that way. As irony would have it though, I did have Cheetos for my Suhoor yesterday.

“The one thing I looked forward to last night, was a reunion with my tea which I split up with since the beginning of Ramadan as by the time we break our fast it is too late to drink tea, given I need to be up early for work the next day. Hurrah for the weekend. I didn’t need to be anywhere for the weekend so I had me a date with my cup of tea and it was glorious”

I actually made every intention to make myself some tea post Iftar this weekend but somehow after eating and cleaning up the table and driving Pops to taraweeh, I no longer feel like making tea. I mean if someone made me a cuppa I would have it gratefully, but making myself one does not appeal. Yes, I know how spoilt that sounds, ok. Don’t judge me in Ramadan. Sad face. Alas, it’s Sunday night and not even like I can make myself one after Iftar, as I have work tomorrow and my sleep is already all over the place.

Oh well, how’s everyone’s Ramadan going?

20 comments

  1. I almost feel the same regards blogging! My sleeping is all over the place too. Not only that, I don’t want my blog to turn into one huge moan! We’re in this together ☺️☺️

  2. Seems like we all are in the same boat. Less sleep, time schedules all changed, but I do have tea after Iftar, and it doesn’t stop me from sleeping. I could fall asleep, just after a cup! 😂😂

  3. I had Cheetos yesterday! YUM!
    Alhamdulillah Ramadhan has been okay I guess. I was on holiday in Spain for the first 6 days so it was weird and quite difficult getting into the vibe I wanted to be in but Alhamdulillah it’s getting a lot better now that I’ve actually got my life together.
    How do you wake up early for work?!
    I tend to stay up until Fajr, but I find it so hard to get up early and seeing as my placement begins on Monday which I have to be at for 7/8am every day, I feel like I am going to struggle 😥
    Please give a sister tips. JazakhAllah Khair in advance (:
    I’m actually very thankful for the weather! Allah has made it so amazing and it’s made me feel less dehydrated. I hope it’s been the same for you x

    1. Man. I’ve been struggling to stay up for fajr these days even when I have a nap. Sad times 😥 as for work. I think its honestly coz my body is programmed to wake up for it. Shame the same can’t be applied for fajr may Allah forgivr us. It helps that my brother goes to work and sis goes to school so there’s a lot of movement in my house in the morning.

Leave a Reply

