Ramadan Vibes; Day 1

Ramadan Mubarak ma peeps.

So, I guess I am late to the Ramadan posts party. But, honestly not much to report on this end. I wondered whether I would blog or not this year. I did last year and I enjoyed it though, so I thought I would give it ago this year too. I don’t know how committed I will be but lets go with the flow.

Today was hard. There, I said it. I wasn’t hungry or thirsty but I had a splitting migraine that made me knock out straight after coming back from work. I had planned to use that time for acts for worship but I literally couldn’t for the pain. I read though that if sleep is used as a means of restoring energy to fast better it can be an act of worship too so Ima take that defense and run with it…

Working during Ramadan is both a blessing and… not such a blessing. Sure the time passes like mad, but you are exhausted by the end of it. That said, come weekend I dunno what to do with myself.

Anyway! I am rambling. Things I want to focus on this Ramadan include; Duaa like crazy, gaining some perspective; my uncle passed away this weekend and honestly this is making me wanna treat this Ramadan like it is my last one. Finally, I am on the hunt for Islamic lectures with a heavy psychology influence to listen to, because I find them relateable and light hearted. If any of you peak Arabic check out lectures by Mustafa Hosny on YouTube. A friend reccomended him and I am hooked. He has a way with words may Allah s.w.t. reward his efforts.

Food-wise, I planned to be healthy but then I had carbs and ice cream. The consolation being they were not monstrous sizes; I couldn’t if I wanted to! Consolation no. 2 is that suhoor is bananas, dates and water #checkmeout !

I pray your Ramadan is going swimmingly well inshallah and may all your duaas be answered in a manner that comforts your heart. Please remember witty ole’ me in your prayers. All I want is peace of mind.

21 comments

  1. Ramadan Mubarak! First few days are always the hardest, soon you’ll be in the swing of things I’m sure ☺️ Migraines though can be tough! Hope there aren’t any more migraines this Ramadan inshallah!

  2. Nouman Ali is doing an in depth of Surah Baqarah this Ramadan… thought you might find that valuable πŸ™‚ quran.bayyinah.com/ramadan2016

  3. Salaam Sis! Ramadan Kareem to you as well. It was same with me yesterday , headache became unbearable after iftaar, all I could do was take a painkiller and lie down. I hope it gets better today and I could read some Quran insha Allah.. May Allah give peace to your heart for the loss of losing loved one.

  4. You should listen to lectures by Yasmin Moghaded, she is a psychologist πŸ™‚

    I started using a bullet journal just before Ramadan, lets see how committed I am πŸ™‚

  5. I bless you with Blessed Ramadan. First Day of Ramadan here in UK, for some Second, but It’s the month of blessings and mercy.

    My heart is so pleased to see a post by you. JazakAllah for writing so uniquely.

    HAve a beautiful month and I pray you reach new realms and new heights.

    1. Same to you lovely. May Allah grant you all that you wish for and shower upon you and your family his greatest blessings ya Rabb πŸ™

  6. Ramadan Mubarak Tam!

    Don’t feel guilty about sleeping – everything is an act of worship if done with the right intention ;). And with that migrane sounds like you needed it!

    Hope your family are ok after your uncle’s passing. I pray Allah forgives his sins and raises him to the highest level in heaven. Ameen.

    Didn’t ever thank you properly for the beautiful letter you wrote me because I kept starting a blog and not finishing it. But here it finally is! https://beingwoke.wordpress.com/2016/06/06/power-of-a-note/

    Sending you lots of love and hope your migrane passes.

Leave a Reply

