A moment of Mercy| Ramadan Ramblings

Day 4

I really question humanity sometimes. I think if we all had more mercy in our hearts the world would be a different if not better place.

I am not going to lie, I am not sensing the Ramadan vibe today. I feel angry and sad and that is a dangerous combination. It is business as usual nonetheless, I am still praying and reading the Quran in the hope of calming down eventually.

As I was driving with a black cloud hovering over my head, I witnessed something strange. I saw a bird that was run over in the middle of the street. The strange part was this; there was another bird that was hovering around it despite the oncoming traffic. I stopped the car and watched it walk back and forth, around and next to the dead bird.

I know nothing about animal behaviour so for all I know it was sticking around to eat it. But to me, it almost felt like it did not want to fly away and leave the dead bird’s side. It was a moment full of mercy.

I’m not an animal lover per se (they scare me and they don’t exactly smell of roses. I feel I should point out I would never hurt one) but what I saw today really touched me deep. I sat there mesmerised and in awe wishing that we as humans displayed mercy similar to this more often.

Subhan’Allah…

wpid-picsart_1434896244387.jpg

5 comments

  1. There are signs in the smallest of things. Use them to wake you from a bad mood. When your down let a cloud remind you of heaven and the beauty of Allah’s mercy insha’Allah your worries will feel insignificant to the vastness of a never ending sky.

Leave a Reply

