Man, this Amman…

Amman is a pretty debateable place for me. I have just come back from spending the majority of my Easter vacation there. My stay was a pleasant one indeed but I think that was largely due to the local, beautiful and hospitable Jordanian family I was staying with. They made the trip pretty memorable for me as we bonded wonderfully over food (so much food!) and laughter.

From a touristic point of view -and a local told me this- you only need to visit one site, be it Jerash, Umm Qais or Petra and you have seen them all as they are all similar in terms of looks even if the backgrounds are different. Unless you are really into the history of it all, then you should really visit all three. Aside from visiting one of those places and the dead sea all I spent the rest of the holiday doing was eating!

Highlights from MY trip…

Possibly my favourite shot in Amman. Made even more special by the bluer than blue sky and sunny taxi. Lovely explosion of colour!

Possibly my favourite shot in Amman. Made even more special by the bluer than blue sky and sunny taxi. Lovely explosion of colour!

The detail on the Arch of Hadrian - Jerash-  is simply magnificent... Fun fact about Jerash? There is free wi-fi there! Go figure.

The detail on the Arch of Hadrian – Jerash- is simply magnificent… Fun fact about Jerash? There is free wi-fi there! Go figure.

20150405_161024

This is Nur, he is adorable. He sells chewing gum in Jerash to help raise his 4 siblings… he watches the news, he is so well informed and has a smile like no other. I sincerely hope God blesses him with a bright and sunny future to match that smile!

4 comments

    1. It’s one of those places you can’t make your mind up about for me 😅 the (extremely) hospitable Jordanian family I stayed with made the trip what it was for me. I think the company always plays a big part when visiting a new place 🙂

Leave a Reply

