(Not) Feeling it Friday

I am normally ecstatic on Fridays, but I have had a shocking day at work. One of those where I was in tears of frustration before I even managed to step out of the premises. One of those where by the end of the day I was questioning every decision I ever made in life – happy days. Everyone is allowed to have a bad day right? I just wish… (here we go!)

I just wish that the world was kinder. I am a firm believer that if you have the power to help anyone turn their day around you should do it without hesitation. I try and apply that belief in my life wherever I can because I truly do think that kindness is key, kindness is bloody magic, why not sprinkle that good stuff everywhere?

In the last two years or so, I have actively made it my life’s aim to do as many acts of kindness as I possibly can. The reason for this is threefold.  First and foremost, life is too short not to spend it doing something worthwhile, and what could be more so than helping others? Secondly, we need more kindness, we need more soul in this sometimes heartless and self consumed world. Finally, just like there is a vicious cycle, there is a kindness one too, whereby any good deed you  do ultimately makes its way back to you.

It’s sad, but I think everyone is so absorbed with their own dilemmas that they don’t have the time and energy to lend someone a helping hand, a listening ear or a shoulder to lean on when dealing with their ordeals. Whoever said, “Who do you know that stops that long to help another carry on? The world moves fast and it would rather pass you by than to stop and see what makes you cry,” (and I think it was Tupac) wasn’t lying.

At the end of the day, all anyone can do, myself very much included, is try. I believe that all one takes away with them when they depart this world is their good deeds so might as well stock up on them! Though I think Princess Diana put it much more eloquently than I did;

“Carry out a random act of kindness, with no expectation of reward, safe in the knowledge that one day someone might do the same for you.”

And on that note, here’s a heart-warming video showing just that… it will take five minutes of your life to watch. Those five minutes might inspire you to help five people who might in turn help another five people, who then might in turn… you get the idea 🙂

3 comments

  1. Hope your Saturday has been much better my friend ❤️ Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. 🙂 And thank you so much for spreading a beautiful message about kindness. What better way to deal with your own sadness, than to put it aside and help other people out of theirs? Noble and inspiring. 🙂 Sending lots of love your way 🙂

Leave a Reply

