The Colour Purple

Firstly, should I be at all disturbed that the idea of a world devoid of colour doesn’t particularly phase or disturb me? I blame black and white photography personally. There is something about black and white photographs that simply mesmerises me. I have often found myself wondering what it would be like to live in a black and white world. Of course, this silly brain of mine refuses to acknowledge that the reality behind the lens of a black and white photo is in fact colourful!

Moving on.

Purple is my absolute favourite colour . This wasn’t always the case as I recall, I went through a hard-core ‘I love black!’ phase during my teenage years, but as time went on I ‘found’ myself and my love for the colour purple (not the book,  great though it is).

Ironically, however, I don’t think purple would be the colour I would keep if I just had to chose one. Don’t ask me why, perhaps because my subconscious doesn’t want to be predictable or maybe because it is influenced by this beautiful fall we have been having at my end of the world… but my colour of choice would be the that of Autumn.

Golden-brown, burnt-orange, call it what you will. But to walk the cold streets on a beautifully crisp, autumnal morning and not see the gorgeous shades of gold it carries with it is a sadder thought than living in a black and white world.

Go figure!

"Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.” - L.D.

“Fall has always been my favourite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature had been saving up all year for the grand finale.” – L.D.

3 comments

  1. I am intrigued how I have “phases” when I prefer a color A LOT for a while and wear and go towards that color, and then I move on to another one. Right now it is the royal blue, exactly that shade of blue, before that it was grey… And I’m not talking long periods of time either, I was really obsessed with grey in October, and with royal blue from December. I notice this because I want to buy clothes in that color, I want jewelry in that color… I go for that color when I get to choose in anything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

