The Lunch Hour

Well, to be fair, ‘hour’ is stretching it. It varies, my lunchtime can be 30 minutes one day and 10 minutes the next. But yes, my lunch break is a time of day that I sometimes never want to end especially that my job takes its toll on me sometimes.

A few months ago, I decided a change in routine would prove most beneficial. My old lunchtimes were spent listening to co-workers discussing the stressful events of that morning, practically inhaling my food in record speed to get more work out of the way and trying to dodge that flustered colleague who starts all conversations with, “Can I be cheeky and ask you to…” and ends them with a half hearted, “You’re the best!”

It seldom felt like I was actually getting a break. My body could just about cope, but my brain basically turned into mush by the end of each day. I felt drained and the time just seemed to drag. Enough was enough! I was going to reclaim my lunch break. So, in a moment of uncharacteristic rebellion for this people pleaser, I decided that every lunchtime I was simply going to disappear; leave the premises altogether.

Result? Best decision I ever made (at work).

Nowadays, I spend my lunch break doing all sorts. I run errands that I would never normally have time for. Other days, I go for a walk or read, but most of the time I park myself somewhere pretty and just watch the world go by, now those right there are my favourite kind of days.

It’s amazing what the world gets up to when you are so immersed in work. Think about it, unless you work outdoors, you don’t really know what’s happening outside during your work hours. Yes, it’s mundane everyday events like disgruntled people walking their dogs with only one in every five dog walkers playing fetch. But you do get to see other things that make your mind wander. Well, they make my mind wander anyway.

For example, I’ve been thinking about this elderly gentleman, a complete stranger to me, whom I see walking towards the same store everyday and back. I find it unusual that someone would need to get groceries everyday. Perhaps he gets them for a neighbour? He certainly seems pleasant and helpful. The more I look at it though, the more I think it likely that he probably, just like me, feels the need to get out and get some fresh air is vital in his daily routine. Maybe he lives alone and needs human contact? I don’t know, God bless him though, everyday he walks past me, he will, without fail give me his warmest smile.

Finally, I want to say; it’s amazing how a seemingly insignificant change in routine can have such a healthy impact on one’s sanity and peace of mind. Everyday on my lunch break, I try and find one thing, no matter how small, to make me smile and see me through the rest of the day. I have come across tons of moments and images that have lingered in my head in recent months. Some made me think; God, I wish I had a camera to capture this moment. And luckily, today, I did …

Image

A moment like this…

This post was inspired by today’s Daily Prompt

Thank you for reading

7 comments

Leave a Reply

